evelyn.a.chapin

An Autumn Day

In Autumn, Baking on October 19, 2009 at 11:03 am

Fall Foliage in Evanston

To say yesterday was beautiful here in Evanston, Il would be an understatement. Yesterday was Fall at its finest with the sunlight enhancing all the colors of the leaves, the sky, and the lake. Above is one example of this color enhancement that I took on my Sunday afternoon stroll from Evanston to Lake Ontario and meandering through the old neighborhoods on my way home. Since I don’t have a front door step at my home I enjoyed seeing the dried flowers, carved gourds, and crafty ghosts people displayed at the front of their lovely homes.

Also, I noticed yesterday that the bananas had reached their final day. The day I must decide whether they die in the trash or live on in banana bread. Today they get to live on in a banana bread! Mark Bittman is one of my favorite food writers and he has a fabulous Banana Bread recipie in his “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian” cookbook. This recipie is like no other because it includes coconut! Besides when I make Coconut Maccaroons, coconut in any form does not enter into my baking. This recipe is quick and dependable. Here are the bananas hanging out with the ripe avacados before the baking began. Avacados beware you’re up next.
Ripe Bananas

  1. And ….. how was the banana bread?
    are you willing to share the recipe.
    I made Banana/blueberry muffins this morning.
    I am interested in the difference between my b-bread
    and the vegan b-bread.
    L
    MJ

  2. forgot to mention …
    how beautiful the trees are in your Fall picture …
    I didn’t see anything like those in my area ..
    Weather was the reason …. isn’t it always?
    mj

Leave a Reply

