evelyn.a.chapin

Sign Language: the other universal language?

In Uncategorized on November 11, 2009 at 11:26 pm



I saw a few You Tube videos of popular songs “sung” in American Sign Language (see below for one example). There’s something about sign language that seems to communicate words better than spoken language. Watching these videos reminds me of the sign language interpreter in my high school biology class. I remember watching the interpreter more than my teacher. The words I was hearing seemed to make more sense when acted out by the interpreter than when they came from only from the teacher. I actually remember this teacher being quite lively and entertaining but he just couldn’t compete. I wonder what other things would be better understood if signed?

After watching the sign language video to “I Gotta Feeling” by the Black Eyed Peas I realized my dance moves consist of saying a combination of “like oh my god” and “loosing all control.” What are you saying when you dance?

Leave a Reply

